Calvin's Sarah DeVries Named TeamSnap/AVCA Division III National Player of the Year

Calvin's Sarah DeVries Named TeamSnap/AVCA Division III National Player of the Year


The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) has announced that Calvin College Setter/Hitter Sarah DeVries has been selected the TeamSnap/AVCA Division III National Player of the Year.

The presentation was made at the NCAA Division III Volleyball Championship Banquet in Pittsburgh, Pa. this evening.

DeVries will also be honored at the AVCA All-America/Players of the Year Banquet on Friday, December 14th in conjunction with the 2018 AVCA Convention in Minneapolis, Minn.

A native of Grand Rapids and a graduate of Grand Rapids Northpointe Christian High School DeVries is the sixth individual in Calvin women's volleyball history to receive the honor. Other Knights to have received the honor include Rebecca Kamp (2011), Lizzie Kamp (2012), Megan Rietema (2013), Maggie Kamp (2014) and Anna Kamp (2017).

DeVries is in the middle of a sensational junior campaign. She has helped the Knights reach the No. 1 spot in the AVCA Division III Top 25 poll since early September. The Knights are 31-1 overall heading into a national quarterfinal match with Aurora University Thursday at 12:30 p.m. in Pittsburgh.

On the court, DeVries has doubled as a setter and middle-hitter for the Knights this season in Calvin's 6-2 offensive system. She has been a multiple-point threat for Calvin on the court, averaging 3.29 kills, 5.42 assists, 2.16 digs and 1.10 blocks-per-set.

She has tallied seven triple-doubles this year which ranks fifth nationally. She is also ranked 13th in total blocks (129).

Earlier this month she was named the MIAA's Most Valuable Defensive Player and earned a spot on the All-MIAA first team. She was subsequently named to the Great Lakes All-Region team and was named the Great Lakes Region Player of the Year. On Tuesday, she was named to the AVCA Division III All-America first team after receiving second team AVCA All-America accolades as a sophomore.

During the season, she was named the MIAA Player of the Week twice and the MIAA Specialty Player of the Week once. She was named to the Elmhurst Invitational all-tournament team in mid-October. On September 25, she was named the AVCA Division III National Player of the Week after helping lead Calvin to victories over nationally-ranked Chicago and Hope.

Last weekend, she was named the Most Outstanding Player of an NCAA III Regional Tournament held at Calvin's Van Noord Arena in Grand Rapids, Michigan. In the regional final against Wittenberg, she just missed a quadruple-double with 14 kills, 21 assists, 21 digs and eight blocks.

"What an incredible honor for Sarah and our program. We are all thrilled to see her recognized at a national level," said Calvin women's volleyball coach Amber Warners. "Sarah has had an exceptional season and is deserving of this award She does so many great things on the court to help our team.  She has been given a lot of different talents that she continues to work on to get better."

AVCA Division III National Players of the Year

2018: Sarah DeVries, Calvin College
2017: Anna Kamp, Calvin College
2016: Lindsey Peterson, Northwestern University – St. Paul
2015: Allison Zastrow, Washington University in St. Louis 
2014 Maggie Kamp, Calvin College 
2013 Megan Rietema, Calvin College 
2012 Lizzie Kamp, Calvin College 
2011 Rebecca Kamp, Calvin College 
2010 Amelia McCall, Emory University 
2009 Christina Cahoon, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh 
2008 Amber Thomas, Juniata College 
2007 Amber Thomas, Juniata College 
2006 Stephanie Kines, Juniata College 
2005 Courtney Rose, Emory University 
2004 Carli Dale, Juniata College 
2003 Amy Smith, University of La Verne 
2002 Rebecca Rotello, Washington University in St. Louis 
2001 Allison Erickson, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater 
2000 Candace Wilson, Central College 
1999 Abbie Brown, Central College 
1998 Abbie Brown, Central College 
1997 Jennifer Martz, Washington University in St. Louis 
1996 Amy Ward, Wisconsin-Oshkosh 
1995 Shelley Swan, Washington University in St. Louis 
1994 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis 
1993 Amy Albers, Washington University in St. Louis 
1992 Lisa Becker, Washington University in St. Louis Anastasia Nikas, Stony Brook University 
1991 Elizabeth Tan, UC San Diego 
1990 Kathy Bersett, Washington University in St. Louis 
1989 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis 
1988 Lori Nishikawa, Washington University in St. Louis 
1987 Janet Hughes, UC San Diego 
1986 Anne Westerkamp, Benedictine University 
1985 Sherri Petrick, Benedictine University